Texas Wine Country

Eight federally approved Viticultural Areas currently exist in Texas. Eighty-five percent of wine from a Viticultural Area must be made from grapes grown within the area's boundaries. If the wine is a varietal, 75 percent of that wine must be made from the designated grape variety.

Texas Wine Country

The Bell Mountain Viticultural Area

Established in 1986, this appellation was the first in Texas. It covers roughly five square miles on the south and southwestern slopes of Bell Mountain in northeast Gillespie County, about 15 miles north of Fredericksburg.


Fredericksburg in the Texas Hill Country Viticultural Area

Some 110 square miles make up this appellation established in 1988 near Fredericksburg, 80 miles west of Austin.


The Texas Hill Country Viticultural Area

This is the second-largest Viticultural Area in the United States. Established in 1991, it covers 15,000 square miles and contains part or all of 22 counties.


Escondido Valley Viticultural Area

Established in 1992, this Viticultural Area covers 50 square miles along Interstate 10 in Pecos County in far West Texas.


Texas High Plains Viticultural Area

This 12,000 square-mile area covers much of the central and western Texas Panhandle. It was approved in 1993.


Davis Mountain Viticultural Area

Approved at the close of 1999, this appellation is southwest of the Escondido Valley Viticultural Area. It is the last US appellation area to be recognized in the 20th century.


Mesilla Valley Viticultural Area

This appellation is located at the far western tip of the Texas border north and west of El Paso. It includes a portion of New Mexico.


Texoma Viticultural Area

The Texoma viticultural area is in north-central Texas, and includes Montague, Cooke, Grayson and Fannin counties. The area covers approximately 3,650 square miles on the south side of Lake Texoma and the Red River, along the Texas-Oklahoma state line.